Kirkman, how could you?!

walking dead 17
The Walking Dead, Vol. 17: Something to Fear ★★★★
Kirkman, Adlard, Rathburn
Image Comics, 2012

***Warning: The following review contains spoilers!!!***

Holy moses, I just knew I was being set up in the last volume. I knew it!!! My momma didn’t raise no fools.

But that hurt. A lot. You’d think I’d be so numb by now that nothing would really get past my defenses anymore but apparently I can still be shivved right in the back and fall to my knees screaming. Watching Glenn go out like that was brutal. It really tore me up. So prolonged. So bloody. And that final guttural scream for Maggie. Do_Not_Want_-_300::clutches chest::[Watching Glen go out like that was brutal. It really tore me up. (hide spoiler)]

This new baddie Negan is a real piece of psychotic work. He makes the Governor look like a misunderstood, tree-hugging hippie who just wishes the kids these days would stay off his damn lawn.

Where can the story possibly go from here? Watching Rick break was tough. I know he’s told the community they’re rolling over…for now, but he’s obviously got something else planned. That last panel when he sends Jesus to follow the baddie back to Negan’s camp to spy and gather intelligence tells us that.

Living as slaves is no option. Something has to be done, and you can bet it’s going to involve A LOT more bloodshed. Even if Rick’s group triumphs against all odds over these animals, what would they have really won? Won’t there always be another Governor or Negan around the corner? Wiping the zombies off the planet is an easier task I figure than neutralizing all the psychos.[Watching Rick break was tough. I know he’s told the community they’re rolling over…for now, but he’s obviously got something else planned. That last panel when he sends Jesus to follow the baddie back to Negan’s camp to spy and gather intelligence tells us that. Living as slaves is no option. Something has to be done, and you can bet it’s going to involve A LOT more bloodshed. Even if Rick’s group triumphs against all odds over these animals, what would they have really won? Won’t there always be another Governor or Negan around the corner? Wiping the zombies off the planet is an easier task I figure than neutralizing all the psychos. (hide spoiler)]

Can’t get enough Walking Dead? Stay tuned. I’m working on a project with fellow blogger and Goodreads compadre  Kemper where we weigh in on the unrelenting darkness of the series and talk about whether or not Kirkman has gone too far with this latest volume and Glenn’s awful death. It will be appearing exclusively on Shelf Inflicted and I will link to it here when it becomes available.

Leave a comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

